NIHBA Annual Dinner and Awards Evening 2018

Jamie Bunting, James Graham, Lindsey McCallister and Bradley Graham. Picture: Cliff Donaldson

Friday 19th October saw 60 members of the NIHBA including their family’s celebrate at the Valley Hotel in Fivemiletown for the Awards Evening to recognise the the Herds who have excelled over the showing year.

Robert Irwin, centre, FarmWeek, guest speaker, with NI Hereford Breeders Association committee members Ivan Haire and Trevor Andrews. Picture: Cliff Donaldson

Guest speaker on the evening was Farm Weeks Editor Robert Irwin who looked back over the last ten years and what was behind the headlines in the farming world and also covered some of the prize winners from a decade ago.

John Gill, chairman of the NI Hereford Breeders’ Association, with Clarence Calderwood, United Feeds, Andrew McMordie, United Feeds, and Trevor Andrews, president of the NI Hereford Breeders’ Association. Picture: Cliff Donaldson

A thank you must go to the sponsors United Feeds and Dunbia who continue to support the NIHBA and make such events possible.

Trevor and Sheevaun Andrews, from Larne. Picture: Cliff Donaldson

The awards throughout the year have been dominated by James Graham and family with his Richmount Herd. On the show circuit he gained the most points with numerous wins at agricultural shows province wide and the National Show held in Omagh. He also picked up Bull of the year and Polled bull with Richmount 1 Peppermint but to name a few. This young bull has bagged James his fourth bull of the year for the Richmount Herd and is off to pastures new as a stock bull.

Andrea and Greer Watson, from Crossgar. Picture: Cliff Donaldson

Other special mentions must go to John Conlon who took the award for overall Herd of the year and also managed to take reserve in the U.K.

John, Helen, Victoria and Andrew McMordie, from Ballygowan. Picture: Cliff Donaldson

Female of the year and Polled female went to Bertie and Greer Watson with Gerry and Ethan Small taking reserve.

Mervin Richmond secured both wins in the Horned and reserve horned female of the year with a joint tie for Glenn Morton and Eamon McCorry taking the Horned Bull of the year.

Michael and Margaret Small, with Mary, Gerry and Ethan Small. Picture: Cliff Donaldson

After such a good year Ethan and Gerry Small lifted the Novice Award along with Ethan securing Young Handler of the year.

Claire and John Conlon, from Markethill. Picture: Cliff Donaldson

Sire of the year went to John & William Mcmordie’s Panmure Henry, a bull that continues to produce show quality stock and prize winners year on year.

NIHBA 2018 Awards

Wenlock Cup
January Sale Champion J & K Taggart

Omagh Mart Cup
Spring Show & Sale Champion Rurai McKenna

Balmoral Show

Sydney Mawhinney Cup Best Naturally Polled Animal Bred in the UK and The F W McMordie Cup Junior Champion at Balmoral
J & W McMordie

National Show

News Letter Rose Bowl for the Champion at the National Show
James Graham

The Ralston Cup for the best heifer exhibitor bred
James Graham

The Barron Cup for the Junior Female James Graham

Robert Clarke Cup Best Poll exhibitor bred James Graham

The NIHBA Cup for the Calf Champion Ciaran Kerr

The Clow Cup for the best group of three Exhibitor bred
James Graham

Robinson & O’Kane Cup for the Exhibitor gaining the most points
James Graham

Best Young Handler under 18 Ethan Small

Calf Show

Kerridge Cup Female Champion Trevor Andrews

McCaffrey Cup Male Champion J & W McMordie

Christie Cup Champion Young Handler C Dorman

Yearly awards

Bull of the Year Cup
James Graham

The Robert Haire Cup for the Poll Bull of the Year Cup
James Graham

Reserve Bull of the Year & Reserve Poll Bull of the Year
A J Farms Ltd

The TT Simpson Cup for the Horned Bull of the Year
Joint Winners Glen & Tracey Morton & Eamon McCorry

Mountstewart Trophy for the Female of the Year and the H W Coates cup for the Poll Female of the Year
Bertie & Greer Watson

Reserve Female of the Year and reserve Poll Female of the Year
J & G Small

A S O’Connor Cup for the Horned Female of the Year and the Reserve Horned Female of the Year
Mervin Richmond

Ulster Bank Rose Bowl Progeny Pair of the Year
James Graham

Novice Award
J & G Small

Haven Cup Sire of the Year
Panmure 1 Henry J & W McMordie

Cuddy Cup Champion Herds Competition John Conlon

Summer Show Champions

Balmoral J & W McMordie

Ballymena Greer Watson

Lurgan J & G Small

Clogher Valley Mervyn Richmond

Newry & Castlewellan Marcus Murdock

Antrim Armagh Saintfield Omagh Enniskillen
James Graham

Niall Kerr and Ciaran Kerr, from Lurgan. Picture: Cliff Donaldson

Author: Editor Hereford

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.